Item AB/1/9 - Elgar String Quartet, Opus 83

Identity area

Reference code

GB GB1179 AB-AB/1-AB/1/9


Elgar String Quartet, Opus 83


  • 1919 (Creation)

Level of description


Extent and medium

4 items

Context area

Archival history

Immediate source of acquisition or transfer

Content and structure area

Scope and content

Parts for first violin, second violin, viola and cello. The parts have been annotated by members of the Brodsky Quartet. There is a note to Dr Brodsky by Edward Elgar on the front of the first violin part, which says, 'Dr A Brodsky in remembrance of a promise in 1898, Edward Elgar, 1919'.

Appraisal, destruction and scheduling


System of arrangement

Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access


Conditions governing reproduction

Language of material

Script of material

Language and script notes

Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Finding aids

Allied materials area

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

Related units of description

Related descriptions

Notes area

Alternative identifier(s)

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Genre access points

Description control area

Description identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation revision deletion




Accession area

Related subjects

Related genres

Related places