Series AB/1 - Music

Identity area

Reference code

GB GB1179 AB-AB/1




  • c1893-c1943 (Creation)

Level of description


Extent and medium

26 items

Context area

Archival history

Immediate source of acquisition or transfer

Content and structure area

Scope and content

Parts for first violin, second violin, viola and cello for string quartets, quintets, and violin sonatas, by various composers; the violin quintet by Dvorak contains a part for piano, and Tchaikovsky's violin sonata contains a piano part and most of the other orchestral parts. Some of the parts are missing for some of the pieces. Most of the parts have been annotated by the Brodsky Quartet, some have been autographed by members of the Quartet, and there are two pieces which have been autographed by Edward Elgar and Edvard Grieg.

Appraisal, destruction and scheduling


System of arrangement

Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access

Conditions governing reproduction

Language of material

Script of material

Language and script notes

Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Finding aids

Allied materials area

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

Related units of description

Related descriptions

Notes area

Alternative identifier(s)

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Description control area

Description identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation revision deletion




Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related genres

Related places